Hide

Dewsbury parish registers, Dewsbury St John Modern Parish: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

Also known as Dewsbury Moor, this is a modern parish of Dewsbury, in Agbrigg division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty of the manor of Wakefield; 5 miles from Wakefield, 8 from Huddersfield and Leeds, 9 from Bradford, 10 from Halifax, 33 from York, 187 from London. The Church is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. John, in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1827-1976
  • Marriages: 1837-1986
  • Burials: 1827-1963

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1830, 1831, 1834, 1835, 1837-1847, (1848-1853*)
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1830-1847

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1827-1884; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  2. C 1885-1929; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.