Hide

Dewsbury parish registers, Hartshead Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A Chapelry in the parish of Dewsbury, Morley division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty of Wakefield; 5 miles from Huddersfield and Dewsbury, 6 from Halifax. Population, including Clifton 2,007. The Church is a perpetual curacy.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1612-1968
  • Marriages: 1612-1973
  • Burials: 1612-1964

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600, 1601, 1608, 1633-1636, 1638, 1639, 1641, 1661-1666, 1668,1669, 1671-1673, 1675-1679, 1683, 1684, 1687-1689, 1691, 1694-1703, 1705-1812, 1814-1818, 1820-1845, (1846-1876*)
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1612-1812, 1814-1845;
  • M 1612-1812, 1814-1845

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1600-1609; Typed transcript, no index; Society of Genealogists
  2. CMB 1612-1812; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 17, CD: P19; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  3. C 1813-1827; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D31/1/4
  4. M 1612-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
  5. C 1863-1922; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  6. C 1837-1862; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  7. B 1612-1819; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  8. B 1820-1899; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  9. C 1813-1836; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.