Doncaster parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish and market town, lower division of Strafforth and Tickhill, in the soke of Doncaster; 7 miles from Tickhill, 9 from Bawtry, 11 from Thorne, 12 from Rotherham and Blyth (Notts), 15 from Ferrybridge and Pontefract, 16 from Worksop (Notts), 20 from Wakefield, 37 from York, 165 from London. Population 8,544. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. George, in the deanery of Doncaster.
Deposited Registers (Doncaster Archives)
- Baptisms: 1557-1924
- Marriages: 1557-1925
- Burials: 1557-1855
- 1600-1602, 1605-1610, 1613-1618, 1621, 1624, 1626, 1627, 1629, 1630,1632-1640, 1661-1669, 1671, 1672, 1675-1678, 1683, 1685, 1688, 1689, 1692-1712, 1714-1838
Note: Doncaster, Christchurch, acquired parochial rights in 1846, nevertheless, there exists an early BT for 1830 at Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.
- C 1735-1838;
- M 1735-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- C 1557-1924; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index-1840; Doncaster Archives
- M 1557-1837; Printed transcript with index; "Yorkshire Marriage Registers", Vols 3, 4, Phillimore & Co., ed. E. K. Blumhardt, 1915; Doncaster Archives
- M 1557-1837; Index only; Archdeaconry of Doncaster Marriage Index
- M 1701-1843; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
- M 1750-1911; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives
- B 1557-1837; Typed transcript, no index; CI; Doncaster Archives
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.