Hide

Drax parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Drax parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Barkston Ash; 4 miles from Snaith, 7 from Selby, 14 from Pontefract, 22 from York. Population 370. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Peter, in the deanery of the Ainsty.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.)

  • Baptisms: 1599-1947
  • Marriages: 1597-1977
  • Burials: 1597-1678, 1681-1980

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1632-1641, 1666, 1667, 1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1676, 1678, 1680,1682, 1683, 1685, 1688-1693, 1695-1732, 1734-1753, 1759, 1761-1784, 1786-1830, 1832-1847, 1849-1892

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1720-1875;
  • M 1720-1847

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1597-1653, 2 vols; Manuscript transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. M 1720-1735, 1800-1837; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.