Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Ecclesfield parish:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Ecclesfield parish:

Ecclesfield parish:

Stocksbridge, War Memorial transcription:

The War Memorial at Stocksbridge.

The plaques above the door: (see also Photo)

1939 - 1945 1939 - 1945
Dick Atkinson Thomas H Mate
Leonard Barraclough Victor H Mate
Leslie Benson Percy Milnes
John W Brannan Michael Moran
Frederick W Broad Dorothy Musk
Richard A Button John E Oates
Edward Challis Steven Osborne
Leonard Charlesworth Jack Revitt
Charles H Cobbe Ernest Robinson
Herbert Davies Aubrey Rodgers
Frank Dawson Amos Roebuck
George A England Joe Rogerson
Norman Firth Albert Rolfe
Kenneth Gregory Harry Rowley
Tom Hanwell John A Sellars
Joseph W M Helliwell Alex Shaw
Leslie W Herbert Robert Shaw
Walter Hingley Marjorie Smith
Lance W Hoyle John R Stagg
Norman Jackson Mabel Turner
Ernest Jones Walter Wadsworth
Albert Kaye Frederick Wakelin
Vincent Lavery Kenneth Walker
Ernest Lowe Denis Walton
Barrington H Marshall William E Webb
Wilfred Martin  
To the honour and everlasting memory
of the soldiers, sailors and nurse of
this district who gave their lives
for their King and Country in the
Great War 1914 - 1918

The plaque on the left hand side of the door: (see also Photo)

The plaque on the right hand side of the door: (see also Photo)

John Adams Stanley V Lester
W Attwood Albert Liles
Alfred Beckett Frank Lievesley
Arthur Brailsford Thomas Maycock
William Bramwell H Micklethwaite
David Ivor Brearley Thomas Milnes
Thornton Brooke Michael Maloney
Sidney Burgin Alfred Morton
Anthony Button Charles F Murrain
E R Buxton Harry Newton
Fred Castledine Clifford Orchard
Bertie T Catton Thomas Pearson
Arthur Couldwell Amos Perkins
Oliver Crapper Spencer Race
Winfield Crawshaw John Raynes
Arnold Crossley Leonard Robinson
Donald Crossley James Roebuck
William Curley Milton Rodgers
J Davies Frank Sanderson
Leonard Duffield Lawrence Sanderson
Mark Dyche Willie Sanderson
Gam Dyson Dyson Schofield
Oswald Dyson A B Senior
Priam Dyson Samuel Senior
Frank Eastwood Benton Shaw
Charles England Douglas Shaw
Fred Fieldsend Eric Sheldon
Harry Finkill Harry Smith
Harry Firth Horace Smith
William H France Arthur Smith
James Green Alfred Sutton
J Gregory Charles Tattersall
David E Gill Herbert Thickett
Eric L Gill Ernest Tingle
S Haigh William H Topps
W Harper H Turner
J Harrison Bertram Vause
Fred Hart John Wallace
W H Hatchett Harry Ward
Harry Herbert Clifford Watkinson
Walter Hey Ernest Watson
Walter R Hill G Whittaker
Friend Hirst Joseph Whittaker
Fred Hollins Percy Whittaker
George Howarth William J Williams
Edwin Hukins James H Withers
Ernest Jackson Joseph A Withers
Robert Jackson Henry Oscar Withers
Walter Johnson S Woodcock
S G Jones Percy Woodhead
Jesse H Kenworthy William J Woodhead
Thomas Keough Alfred Wright
Alec A Leather Lucy Castledine
Arthur (surname
Cyril Dickinson
  Cyril Spivey

Data transcribed by
Haydn Scott and Colin Hinson
from photography by Colin Hinson