HALIFAX: Halifax Trinity Road Baptist Church History up to 1912.
HALIFAX, TRINITY ROAD BAPTIST CHURCH
The Trinity Road Church, Halifax, was constituted on May 5th, 1851, as the second Particular Baptist Church in the town. On that day fifty-five members were enrolled. Their first place of worship was a room in Horton Street, which soon became too small; as there was no accommodation for Baptism, the ordinance was administered in the Public Baths. Trinity chapel was opened on August 18th, 1854, and of the £4000 expended a debt of £2500 remained. This, by the assistance of a generous offer from the Crossley family, was liquidated in 1862. The Church has had ten pastors, the most notable ministry being that of Rev. James Parker, M.A. (1871-91).
He was succeeded by Revs. H. Davies (1892-1900); W. G. Scroggie (1902-5), and R. C. Sloan (1908-). Trinity Road has had the common experience of prosperity and adversity, but, under its present pastor, the work is being diligently pressed forward. The progress of the membership is not without interest. At the close of its first decade of history (1861) the original fifty-five had increased to 271; in 1876, to 287; in 1886, to 320; in 1896, to 330. The present membership numbers 245.
from the "Present Churches" section of
The Baptists of Yorkshire
by Rev. J. Brown Morgan
and Rev. C.E. Shipley