Hide

Horton in Ribblesdale parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Horton in Ribblesdale parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Ewcross; 5½ miles from Settle, 16 from Kirby Lonsdale (Westmoreland), 19½ from Askrigg, 62 from York. Population 558. The Church is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. Oswald, or Thomas à Beckett, in the deanery of Craven.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1556-1671, 1675-1913
  • Marriages: 1557-1671, 1675-1968
  • Burials: 1557-1671, 1675-1973

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1601-1603, 1605, 1632-1641, 1662, 1664, 1666-1669, 1671-1673, 1675-1678, 1682, 1683, 1689, 1692, 1694-1696, 1698-1706, 1708-1711, 1713-1847, (1849-1869, 1872-1885, 1889, 1890, 1899*)
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1556-1812, 1813-1847;
  • M 1557-1812, 1813-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1556-1812; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD38
  2. CMB 1556-1812; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  3. CMB 1711-1718; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  4. M 1557-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
  5. M 1705-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.