Hide

Huddersfield parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Huddersfield parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

An ancient parish in the town of Huddersfield, in Agbrigg division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty of Pontefract; 5 miles from Halifax and Dewsbury, 12¾ from Penistone, 13 from Wakefield, 14 from Bradford, 16 from Leeds, 18 from Barnsley, 24 from Manchester (Lancs), 39 from York, 189 from London. Population, including St. Paul and Holy Trinity 13,284. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Peter, in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1562-1944
  • Marriages: 1580-1961
  • Burials: 1562-1925

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1605, 1608, 1610, 1632-1635, 1637-1639, 1661-1669, 1671-1673, 1675-1678, 1682-1686, 1688, 1691-1713, 1715, 1716, 1718, 1720-1760, 1762-1824 (No marriages 1764-1773)

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1566-1599, 1606-1812, 1813-1824;
  • M 1724-1809, 1813-1824

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CB 1562-1606; M 1581-1606; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D32/2
  2. C 1563-1601; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  3. C 1601-1626; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  4. C 1601-1626; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  5. C 1626-1653; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  6. C 1653-1678; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  7. C 1678-1700; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  8. C 1700-1719; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  9. C 1719-1735; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  10. C 1735-1750; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  11. C 1750-1759; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  12. C 1760-1770; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  13. C 1771-1778; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  14. C 1779-1786; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  15. C 1787-1792; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  16. C 1793-1798; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  17. C 1799-1805; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  18. C 1806-1812; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  19. C 1813-1819; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  20. C 1819-1826; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  21. C 1827-1832; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  22. C 1833-1837; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  23. C 1838-1844; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  24. C 1845-1851; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  25. C 1852-1863; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  26. C 1864-1877; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  27. C 1878-1893; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  28. C 1894-1923; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  29. M 1581-1639; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  30. M 1640-1689; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  31. M 1690-1724; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  32. M 1724-1756; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  33. M 1756-1774; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  34. M 1775-1788; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  35. M 1789-1801; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  36. M 1801-1810; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  37. M 1811-1818; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  38. M 1819-1825; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  39. M 1826-1831; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  40. M 1832-1837; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  41. B 1562-1812; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  42. B 1813-1851; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  43. C 1792-1863; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D32/62-8
  44. M 1820-1827; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D32/69
  45. M 1834-1837; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D32/31
  46. M 1854-1862; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D32/70
  47. B 1818-1822; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D32/71
  48. B 1822-1827; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D32/69
  49. B 1827-1860; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D32/72-3

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.