Hide

Kippax parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish town, in the lower division of Skyrack, Liberty of Pontefract; 5½ miles from Pontefract, 8 from Leeds, 9 from Wakefield, 21 from York. Population 958. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of the Ainsty.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds)

  • Baptisms: 1539-1969
  • Marriages: 1539-1978
  • Burials: 1539-1962

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1631-1640, 1662-1671, 1673, 1675-1678, 1682-1684, 1689-1694, 1696-1698, 1700-1702, 1704, 1706-1708, 1710-1759, 1761-1835, 1837, 1838, 1840, (1841, 1842, 1845-1850, 1854, 1855*)
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1539-1812, 1813-1840;
  • M 1540-1812, 1813-1840

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1539-1812; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 10, CD: P4; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. M 1540-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.