Hide

Kirk Sandal parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Kirk Sandal parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the lower-division of Strafforth and Tickhill; 4½ miles from Doncaster, 6½ from Thorne, 37 from York. Population 192. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to St. Oswald, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Doncaster Archives)

  • Baptisms: 1679-1988
  • Marriages: 1679-1978
  • Burials: 1679-1937

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1603, 1626-1629, 1632-1636, 1639, 1640, 1661-1666, 1668, 1671, 1673,1676, 1682-1685, 1688-1692, 1694-1696, 1699-1710, 1712-1716, 1718-1726, 1728-1815, 1817-1819, 1821-1834, 1836, 1842-1848 (filed at Borthwick Institute of Historical Research under the township name of Sandal Parva)

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1728-1848;
  • M 1728-1834

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1679-1914; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index-1812; Doncaster Archives
  2. M 1679-1837; Index only; Archdeaconry of Doncaster Marriage Index
  3. M 1679-1837; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index-1953; Doncaster Archives
  4. M 1679-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; SOG, York Central Library
  5. M 1700-1750; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
  6. B 1679-1937; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.