Kirkby Overblow parish registers, Stainburn Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.
A Chapelry in the parish of Kirkby Overblow, upper division of Claro; 4¾ miles from Otley, 9 from Knaresborough. Population 364. The Church is a perpetual curacy under Kirkby Overblow.
Deposited Registers ()
- Baptisms: Registers stolen. (From 1803)
- Marriages: Registers stolen. Surviving register starts 1871.
- Burials: Registers stolen. (From 1803)
- Note: The West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds, reports: "About 20 years ago thieves broke into the Church and made off with the safe containing the Church plate and the parish registers. The safe was later found upside down and empty in a ditch. The marriage register from 1871 survived because it was being used at a nearby Church at the time. It is sincerely hoped that the registers were not destroyed, and might one day turn up." All early marriages are with Kirkby Overblow. BTs: 1663-1670, 1672, 1673, 1675-1679, 1683, 1684, 1688, 1690-1692, 1694-1713, 1715-1776, 1778-1829, 1831, 1832, 1834-1838, 1840-1843
- 1663-1670, 1672, 1673, 1675-1679, 1683, 1684, 1688, 1690-1692,1694-1713, 1715-1776, 1778-1829, 1831, 1832, 1834-1838, 1840-1843
- C 1780-1843
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1647-1812 (with Kirby Overblow); Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.