Hide

Knaresborough parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Knaresborough parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish and market town, in the lower division of Claro, Liberties of St. Peter and Knaresborough; 5 miles from Ripley, 7 from Boroughbridge and Wetherby, 11 from Hopper Lane Inn, 12 from Ripon, 13 from Otley, 18 from Leeds and York, 24 from Skipton, 201 from London. Population 5,283. The Church, a prebendal peculiar, is a vicarage, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, in the deanery of Boroughbridge, diocese of Chester.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office, microfilm only)

  • Baptisms: Registers with incumbent (Microfilm 1561-1933)
  • Marriages: Registers with incumbent (Microfilm 1561-1912)
  • Burials: Registers with incumbent (Microfilm 1561-1958)

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1670, 1674, 1675, 1679-1682, 1684, 1686-1688, 1690, 1691, 1696,1698, 1699, 1702, 1705-1718, 1721, 1723, 1725-1728, 1731-1738, 1740-1933 (All at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds, plus one other, undated, c. 1670)

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1670-1764, 1765-1778, 1819-1833, 1835-1839;
  • M 1670-1764, 1765-1778, 1819-1833, 1835-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1560-1753; PTI, Extracts only; W. J. Kaye, 1922; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. M 1801-1840; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.