Hide

In 1822, the following places were in the Parish of Linton In Craven:

hide
Hide
Hide


"GRASSINGTON, (also Gris, Griston or Grisington in the parish registers) in the parish of Linton in Craven, east-division and liberty of Staincliffe; (the seat of Henry Brown, Esq.) 6 miles S. of Kettlewell, 10 from Skipton and Pateley Bridge, 14 from Settle. It has a small Market on Tuesday, (chartered for Friday) Fairs, March 4, April 24, June 29, September 26, for pedlary, &c. Pop. 983.

The neighbourhood of Grassington is famous for its Lead Mines, which have been worked from about the time of James I. Dr. Whitaker says, the "Lead on Grassington Moor is extremely rich, a ton of ore sometimes yielding sixteen hundred pounds weight of metal; but it is poor in Silver." --Whitaker's Craven."


"HEBDEN, in the parish of Linton in Craven, east division and liberty of Staincliffe; 5 miles SSE. of Kettlewell and Pateley Bridge, 12 from Skipton. Pop. 377."


"HEBDEN BANK, in the parish of Linton in Craven, adjoining Hebden."


"HEBDEN MOORSIDE, straggling cottages in the township of Hebden and Hartlington, and parishes of Linton in Craven and Burnsall, east-division and liberty of Staincliffe; 7½ miles W. of Pateley Bridge."


"NETHERSIDE, (the seat of Alexander Nowell, Esq.) in the township of Threshfield, and parish of Linton in Craven; 5½ miles from Kettlewell, 10½ from Skipton."


"SKIRETHORNS, a hamlet in the township of Threshfield, and parish of Linton in Craven, liberty of Staincliffe; 6 miles S. of Kettlewell."


"THRESHFIELD, in the parish of Linton in Craven, east-division and liberty of Staincliffe; 6 miles S. of Kettlewell, 9 from Skipton, 11 from Pateley Bridge, 20 from Settle. Pop. 237.

Here is a Grammar School, founded in 1674, by the Rev. Matthew Hewitt, Rector of Linton, who endowed it with £20. per ann. for the master, and £10. for the usher, and £50. for four exhibitions to four scholars, from this School, to St. John's College, in Cambridge. Although this School cannot boast of late, either of "able masters or hopeful scholars," Whitaker's Craven informs us "that the late Bishop Elphin, Dr. Dodgson, as well as the present learned and venerable master of St. John's College, (Dr. William Craven,) were among the number of Hewitt's exhibitioners." And the Rev. Wm. Sheepshanks, of St. John's College, Cambridge, a native of Linton, received his education in this School."

[Description(s) edited from various 19th century sources by Colin Hinson © 2013]