Hide

Methley parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish town, in Agbrigg division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty of Pontefract; 6 miles from Wakefield, 6¾ from Leeds and Pontefract. Population 1,499. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to St. Oswald, in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds)

  • Baptisms: 1559-1900
  • Marriages: 1559-1904
  • Burials: 1559-1895

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1598, 1601-1606, 1608-1610, 1612, 1626, 1629, 1631-1637, 1639,1663-1668, 1671-1673, 1675-1678, 1681-1685, 1691, 1692, 1694-1716, 1718- 1728, 1730-1843, (1844*), 1845
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1560-1812, 1813-1845;
  • M 1559-1812, 1813-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1560-1812; Printed transcript with index; Thoresby Society, Vol 12; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  2. M 1559-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.