Hide

Mexborough parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Mexborough parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the lower division of Strafforth and Tickhill, Liberties of St. Peter and Tickhill; 5½ miles from Rotherham, 8 from Doncaster, 44 from York. Population 865. The Church, a peculiar of the Archdeaconry of York, is a vicarage in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Doncaster Archives)

  • Baptisms: 1562-1759, 1763-1951
  • Marriages: 1592-1759, 1763-1951
  • Burials: 1559-1759, 1763-1980

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600, 1602, 1631, 1633-1639, 1641, 1661, 1662, 1664, 1683, 1691,1692, 1694-1696, 1698, 1700-1705, 1707-1710, 1713-1720, 1724-1729, 1732- 1736, 1738, 1740-1747, 1749-1877

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1724-1877;
  • M 1724-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1562-1873, 4 vols; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives, SA
  2. M 1592-1837, 2 vols; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives, SA
  3. M 1754-1837; Index only; Archdeaconry of Doncaster Marriage Index
  4. B 1559-1603, 1625-1749, 1752-1870, 3 vols; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives, SA

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.