The Mirfield Church was commenced in 1816, and owes its inception to Mrs. Ingham and Mr. C. Thompson. Mrs. Ingham was a daughter of Dr. Evans, of the Bristol College, and her brother-in-law, Benjamin. Ingham, built the first chapel at Lockwood. Mr. Thompson, who was a Horton student, having conducted services at Thornhill was invited by the Ingham family to preach at their residence, Blake Hall. These meetings continued until Mrs. Ingham's death in 1819, when the congregation obtained a temporary use of the town barn until it should be required for the harvest. They removed, in 1820, to Little Moor Barn, and from thence to the schoolroom of the Knowle Grammar School where they remained three years, and formed, on July 25th, 1825, a Church of fourteen members.
A curate having succeeded to the mastership of the school, the Baptists were speedily evicted, but one of the deacons opened his house to the homeless company, and here the services were continued for four years. In 1830 they had the joy of possessing a chapel of their own, and the next year Mr. Albrecht—a German gentleman and a convert of the Hon Baptist Noel — came from Horton College as pastor. Here he found his life work, ministering to the people until his death in 1877, and leaving behind him a well-established Church.
In 1855 the school was built; in 1873 the present fine chapel was opened without debt, and stands as a worthy monument to the zeal of Dr. Albrecht, and the liberality of many friends. The pastorate has since been held by the Revs. W. Cushing (1879-81); R. Evans (1882-6), and J. Kitchener (1887-1909). The present pastor, Rev. H. Motley, began his ministry in July, 1910. Mirfield regards herself as the only Church in the Huddersfield District whose origin may not be traced, directly or indirectly, to the Church at Salendine Nook.