Hide

Monk Fryston parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Barkston Ash, a part in the Liberty of St. Peter; 4 miles from Ferrybridge, 6½ from Pontefract, 7½ from Selby, 13¾ from Leeds, 19 from York. Population 409. The Church, a prebendal peculiar, is a parochial Chapelry, in the deanery of the Ainsty.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.)

  • Baptisms: 1538-1894
  • Marriages: 1538-1943
  • Burials: 1538-1756, 1758-1924

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1604, 1605, 1609, 1610, 1612, 1615, 1619, 1635, 1636, 1641, 1662,1663, 1665-1675, 1685-1687, 1689, 1691-1820, 1822-1838, 1841-1868

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1538-1756, 1755-1868;
  • M 1538-1812, 1813-1837, 1837-1887

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1538-1678; Printed transcript with index; Parish Register Society (publications of) 5; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  2. CB 1679-1756; M 1679-1812; Typed transcript, with index; H. G. Gillespie, 1943; Society of Genealogists
  3. M 1679-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
  4. M 1691-1765; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.