Hide

Penistone parish registers, Denby Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Penistone parish registers, Denby Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A Chapelry in the parish of Penistone, wapentake of Staincross, Liberty of Pontefract; 3 miles from Penistone, 6½ from Barnsley, 11 from Huddersfield. Population 1,412. The Church, dedicated to St. Mary, is a perpetual curacy, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1851-1929
  • Marriages: 1854-1969
  • Burials: 1851-1979

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1699*, 1707*, 1712*, 1714-1717*, 1719-1746*, 1747-1750, 1751-1812*, 1814-1846*
    * With Penistone

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1711-1844, 1844-1846;
  • M 1728-1746,

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1733-1738; M 1736-1737; B 1733-1738; 1813-1816; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. B 1800-1852; Index only, 3 vols; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
  3. C 1851-1929; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.