Hide

Pontefract parish registers, Knottingley Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Pontefract parish registers, Knottingley Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A Chapelry in the parish of Pontefract, wapentake of Osgoldcross, Liberty of Pontefract; 1 mile from Ferrybridge, 3 from Pontefract, 9½ from Snaith, 15½ from Doncaster. Population 3,753. The Church is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. Botolph.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1724-1972
  • Marriages: 1789-1975*
  • Burials: 1728-1932

  • * Some marriages during the period 1777-1812 are recorded in the Burial register of Pontefract St. Giles.

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1795#, 1796#, 1798#, 1813-1822, 1824-1870# With Pontefract

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1724-1870;
  • M 1724-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CM 1724-1804; B 1789-1793; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D134/1/1/1
  2. C 1804-1857; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: C803/2/1-2/1-2
  3. M 1793-1837; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: C803/2/3/1
  4. M 1837-1897; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: C826
  5. B 1804-1812; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: C803/2/1/1
  6. B 1839-1932; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: C803/2/4/1

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.