Hide

Pontefract parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Pontefract parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish and market town, in the wapentake of Osgoldcross, Liberty of Pontefract; 2 miles from Ferrybridge, 11 from Aberford, 9 from Wakefield, 13 from Leeds, 14 from Snaith, Barnsley, and Selby, 15 from Doncaster and Tadcaster, 17 from Wetherby, 20 from Rotherham and Thorne, 24 from York, 177 from London. Population 4,447. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to All Saints, in the deanery of Pontefract. .

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1585-1641, 1647-1972
  • Marriages: 1585-1641, 1647-1648, 1653-1965
  • Burials: 1585-1642, 1647-1949

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1598, 1600, 1601, 1603, 1604, 1610-1613, 1615-1617, 1619, 1622,1626, 1628-1640, 1664-1669, 1672, 1673, 1675, 1676, 1678, 1682-1684, 1692, 1694-1700, 1702-1878

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1585-1642, 1721-1875;
  • M 1585-1642, 1721-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1585-1641; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 122; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. C 1647-1672; M 1647-1653; B 1647-1653; Typed transcript, with index; Society of Genealogists, West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: C368/2
  3. C 1751-1803; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: C803/6/1/1-2
  4. C 1823-1835; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D40/1/24-5
  5. M 1760-1821; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
  6. M 1790-1812; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: C803/6/2/1-3
  7. M 1826-1843; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: C803/6/2/4-5

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.