Hide

Rawmarsh parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish town, in the upper division of Strafforth and Tickhill; 2 miles from Rotherham, 8 from Sheffield, 10 from Barnsley, 46 from York. Population 1,259. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to St. Lawrence, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Sheffield Archives)

  • Baptisms: 1558-1637, 1653-1970
  • Marriages: 1558-1632, 1653-1967
  • Burials: 1558-1635, 1653-1926

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1603-1605, 1607, 1609, 1610, 1612, 1615, 1617, 1622, 1627-1636,1638-1640, 1661, 1663-1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1676, 1678, 1682-1686, 1688, 1690-1692, 1694, 1696-1706, 1708-1716, 1718-1839, 1843-1849

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1718-1849;
  • M 1718-1839

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1558-1899; M 1558-1900; B 1558-1899, 20 vols; Typed transcript, no index; G. Strafford; Doncaster Archives, SA
  2. C 1558-1812; M 1558-1753; B 1653-1812; Typed transcript with separate index volume; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.