Hide

Rossington parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Rossington parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the lower division of Strafforth and Tickhill, soke of Doncaster; 8 miles from Doncaster, 5½ from Bawtry, 42 from York. Population 383. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to St. Michael, in the deanery of Doncaster. .

Deposited Registers (Doncaster Archives)

  • Baptisms: 1538-1961
  • Marriages: 1538-1751, 1754-1949
  • Burials: 1592-1708, 1786-1943

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1538-1627 (a continuous roll of baptisms, marriages and burials, theseappear to be a single, complete copy, in the same hand, made c1627), 1629- 1641, 1660-1668, 1671, 1673, 1677-1680, 1682-1683, 1686, 1688-1689, 1691-1760, 1762-1810, 1812-1827, 1830-1902 (These BTs have been mislaid for many years, but were recently found at Southwell Minster. After filming, copies will be made for public use at Nottinghamshire Archives Office)

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1538-1778, 1779-1875;
  • M 1538-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1538-1837; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD5
  2. C 1539-1894; B 1592-1812; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives
  3. M 1538-1837; Typed transcript, no index; CI; Doncaster Archives
  4. M 1538-1837; Index only; Archdeaconry of Doncaster Marriage Index
  5. M 1538-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.