Rotherham parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Rotherham parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish and market town, in the upper division of Strafforth and Tickhill; 6 miles from Sheffield, 11 from Tickhill, 12 from Doncaster and Barnsley, 15 from Penistone, 16 from Worksop (Notts), 49 from York, 160 from London. Population 3,548. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Ann, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Sheffield Archives)

• Baptisms: 1542-1907
• Marriages: 1540-1649, 1653-1902
• Burials: 1541-1881

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1600-1603, 1607-1610, 1612, 1614-1617, 1620, 1621, 1623, 1626-1637,1640, 1661, 1663-1669, 1671, 1672, 1676-1678, 1680, 1682-1685, 1687-1689, 1691-1837

IGI Coverage:

• C 1542-1563, 1720-1837;
• M 1540-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1542-1563; PTNI; "Historical Notices of Rotherham", J. Guest, 1879; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
2. M 1540-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
3. M 1540-1790; 1798-1837, 2 vols; Printed transcript with index; "Yorkshire Marriage Registers", Vols 1, 2, Phillimore & Co., ed. C. S. James & J. W. Goodhall, 1914 + 1915; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---