Hide

Saint Johns parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish-town, in the upper division of Strafforth and Tickhill; 6½ miles from Tickhill, 7½ from Worksop (Notts), 8 from Rotherham, 10 from Bawtry. Population, including Throapham, 50, which being united, form a township. The Church, dedicated to St. John, is a peculiar of the Chancellorship of York, and is a perpetual curacy in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Sheffield Archives)

  • Baptisms: 1547-1743, 1746-1977
  • Marriages: 1547-1743, 1754-1977
  • Burials: 1547-1741, 1747-1940

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1601, 1605*, 1631, 1634-1639, 1660-1668, 1670, 1673, 1674, 1681,1683, 1687-1689, 1692, 1697, 1700, 1702-1704, 1710-1723, 1725-1727, 1728-1731#, 1732, 1734#, 1735, 1736, 1738, 1739, 1740#, 1741, 1743-1745, 1746#, 1747, 1748, 1749#, 1750-1756, 1757#, 1758-1816, 1818-1836
    * With Dinnington; # With Laughton en le Morthen

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1709-1836;
  • M 1709-1834

Transcripts and Indexes:

  • None known

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.