Sandal Magna parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Sandal Magna parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish town, in Agbrigg division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty of Wakefield; 2 miles from Wakefield, 8 from Barnsley, 9 from Pontefract, 30 from York. Population 888. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Helen, in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

• Baptisms: 1651-1983
• Marriages: 1651-1991
• Burials: 1651-1961

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1598, 1600-1604, 1608, 1626-1639, 1661-1669, 1671-1673, 1675-1678,1682-1684, 1688, 1689, 1691, 1692, 1694, 1695, 1697, 1699-1768, 1770- 1787, 1789-1838, 1842, 1843, (1844-1863*)
  * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

• C 1598-1631, 1651-1812, 1813-1843;
• M 1598-1631, 1651-1812, 1813-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1538-1812; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD8
2. CMB 1598-1631; "Northern Genealogist", Vols 3, 4; Typed transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
3. CMB 1632-1639; Typed transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
4. CB 1651-1812; M 1651-1832; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
5. M 1598-1631; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
6. M 1770-1780; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---