Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Selby parish:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Selby parish:

Selby, Vicars transcription:

The List of Abbots and Vicars in Selby Abbey.

1069Benedict 1625John Whitaker BA
1097Hugh de Lacy 1642Paul Hammerton
1123Herbert 1650Richard Calvert
1127Durand 1658Thomas Birdsall
1139Walter 1666Arthur Squire MA
1143Helias Paynel 1698Shadrach Sherburn BA
1153German 1698Henry Allan
1160Gilbert de Vere 1701Geoffrey Rishton
1189Roger de London 1720Thomas Hardy
1195Richard I 1728William Charnley BA
1214Geoffrey 1748Marmaduke Teasdale BA
1214Alexander 1778William Porter MA
1221Richard II 1796William Caile
1223Richard de Kellesay 1797Thomas Mounsey
1245Hugh de Drayton 1819Jonathan Muncaster
1255Thomas de Whalley 1834John Leidger Walton MA
1263David de Cawood 1850Francis Whaley Harper MA
1270Thomas de Whalley Canon of York
1280William de Aslakeby 1889Archibald George Tweedie MA
1293John de Wystowe 1904Maurice Parkin MA
1300William de Aslaghby 1910John Solloway DD
1313Simon de Scardeburgh Canon of York
1322John de Wystowe 1941Alfred Edgar Moore Glover MA
1335John de Heslyngton Canon of York
1342Gilfred de Gatesby 1945Frank Read AKC
1368John de Shireburn 1952John Aldwyn Pelham Kent MA
1408William Pygot Canon of York
1429John Cave 1978Anthony Cecil Addison Smith MA
1436John Ousthorp Canon of York
1466John Sharrow 1983Michael William Escritt DipTh
1486Lawrence Selby 1990Peter Lawrence Dodd MBE
1504Robert Deeping 1993James Alexander Robertson
1518Thomas Rawlinson 1996Roy Ian John Matthews TD MA
1522John Barwick Canon of Wakefield
1526Robert Selby 1997Keith Michael Jukes BA
VICARS Prebendary of Lichfield
1540Anthony Ashton   
1583Robert Dove   
1586Thomas Tomlinson   
1603John Bradley   
1610Thomas Greenwood   
1613John Moor   
1620Richard Smith BA   

Data transcribed by
Haydn Scott.
from photography by Colin Hinson