Sherburn in Elmet parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Sherburn in Elmet parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish and market town, in the wapentake of Barkston Ash, a part in the Liberty of St. Peter; 3½ miles from Aberford, 6 from Ferrybridge, 7 from Tadcaster and Pontefract, 8 from Selby, 12½ from Leeds, 15 from York, 183 from London. Population 1,144. The Church, a prebendal peculiar, is a vicarage, dedicated to All Saints, in the deanery of the Ainsty.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.)

• Baptisms: 1640-1643, 1653-1734, 1736-1744, 1747-1966
• Marriages: 1640-1643, 1661-1734, 1736, 1738, 1740-1745, 1747-1981
• Burials: 1640-1643, 1653-1672, 1676-1732, 1736, 1738, 1740-1933

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1603, 1604, 1622, 1626, 1628, 1630, 1632-1635, 1637-1641, 1664-1668,1674-1676, 1683, 1686, 1687, 1689-1692, 1694, 1695, 1698-1732, 1736, 1738, 1740-1852, 1854-1863, 1865, 1866

IGI Coverage:

• C 1640-1753, 1754-1866, 1866-1886;
• M 1641, 1642, 1661-1753, 1754-1844, 1844-1886

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1603-1837; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD32
2. CMB 1622-1709; Typed transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
3. CMB 1641-1753; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
4. M 1700-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---