Silkstone parish registers, Barnsley Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.
A Chapelry and market town in the parish of Silkstone, wapentake of Staincross, Liberty of Pontefract; 8 miles from Penistone, 10 from Wakefield, 12 from Rotherham, 14 from Sheffield and Pontefract, 15 from Doncaster, 18 from Huddersfield, 38 from York, 176¾ from London. Population 8,284. The Church is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. Mary, under Silkstone.
Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)
- Baptisms: 1568-1952
- Marriages: 1569-1974
- Burials: 1568-1924
- 1600-1602, 1604, 1605, 1607-1610, 1612-1617. 1620, 1622-1624, 1627-1640, 1660-1668, 1671, 1672, 1676, 1678, 1680, 1683, 1685, 1688, 1689, 1691, 1692, 1694, 1696-1698, 1700-1831, (1848*)
* At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds
- C 1568-1812, 1813-1831;
- M 1568-1812, 1813-1831
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CB 1568-1812; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD18
- CB 1568-1790; M 1568-1808; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- M 1569-1683; 1703-1724; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
- C 1800-1808; 3 vols; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
- M 1800-1837; Index only, 4 vols; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
- B 1800-1837; Index only, 10 vols; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
- M 1832-1837; Barnsley St George; Index only; Barnsley St George; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
- B 1846-1849; Barnsley St George; Index only, 2vols; Barnsley St George; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.