Silkstone parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish town, in the wapentake of Staincross, Liberty of Pontefract; 4 miles from Barnsley and Penistone, 10½ from Wakefield, 39 from York. Population 807. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to All Saints, in the deanery of Doncaster.
Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)
- Baptisms: 1558-1598, 1651-1965
- Marriages: 1558-1599, 1653-1948
- Burials: 1558-1597, 1651-1970
- 1600-1602, 1604, 1605, 1608, 1610, 1612, 1614, 1623, 1627, 1629-1632, 1634-1640, 1661, 1663-1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1676, 1683-1685, 1688, 1689, 1694, 1695, 1698-1700, 1702-1846, (1847-1882*)
* At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds
- C 1558-1598, 1656-1784, 1784-1846;
- M 1558-1599, 1653-1784, 1784-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1558-1784; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD17
- CMB 1558-1784; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- M 1558-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, (York Central Library to 1784)
- M 1800-1837; Index only, 7 vols; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
- B 1800-1837; Index only, 5 vols; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
- B 1848-1899; Dodworth St. John; Index only, 4 vols; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.