Hide

Snaith parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide
Hide

Snaith parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish and market town, in the wapentake of Osgoldcross, Liberty and bailiwick of Cowick and Snaith; 7 miles from Thorne, 8 from Selby, 10 from Howden, 11 from Ferrybridge, 14 from Pontefract, 23 from York, 175 from London. Population 834. The Church, a peculiar of the Snaith Court, is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (Doncaster Archives)

  • Baptisms: 1559-1901
  • Marriages: 1538-1655, 1662-1880
  • Burials: 1537-1655, 1662-1853

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1599-1603, 1608, 1609, 1631, 1635, 1639, 1751, 1752, 1754, 1757-1759, 1761-1765, 1767, 1768, 1770-1778, 1780-1786, 1788, 1790, 1808, 1812-1839, 1841-1847, 1849-1858

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1537-1657, 1751-1790, 1808-1858;
  • M 1537-1657, 1751-1790, 1808-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1558-1657; M 1537-1657; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 57; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. C 1559-1901; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives
  3. M 1537-1837; Typed transcript, no index; CI; Doncaster Archives
  4. M 1537-1838; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; SOG, York Central Library
  5. M 1754-1837; Index only; Archdeaconry of Doncaster Marriage Index
  6. B 1537-1656; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 63; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  7. B 1538-1853; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.