Spofforth parish registers, Wetherby Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.

Spofforth parish registers, Wetherby Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A market and post town. This a Chapelry in the parish of Spofforth, upper division of Claro; 6 miles from Harewood, 7 from Knaresborough, and Tadcaster, 8 from Aberford, 12 from Boroughbridge, 15¼ from York, 16 from Otley and Leeds, 194 from London. Population 1,217. The Church is a perpetual curacy.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds)

• Baptisms: 1783-1886
• Marriages: At Spofforth
• Burials: 1842-1909

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1780-1785*, 1786-1842, 1844-1847, (1848-1866, 1868, 1869, 1871-1875#)
  * With Spofforth; # At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

• C 1786-1812, 1813-1847

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. C 1731-1733 (with Spofforth, All Saints); Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
2. C 1783-1837; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---