Hide

Stainton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Stainton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the upper division of Strafforth and Tickhill; 2½ miles from Tickhill, 6½ from Bawtry, 9 from Rotherham, 45 from York. Population, including Hellaby 218, which being united form a township. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated, to St. Winifred, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Doncaster Archives)

  • Baptisms: 1556-1662, 1721-1940
  • Marriages: 1556-1652, 1721-1959
  • Burials: 1557-1653, 1721-1816

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1601, 1604, 1607, 1627, 1631, 1632, 1634, 1635, 1637, 1660-1662,1664-1669, 1671-1673, 1675-1678, 1682, 1683, 1685, 1686, 1688, 1691, 1694, 1695, 1697-1836, 1842

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1813-1842;
  • M 1721-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1556-1663, 1782-1940; Typed transcript, no index; CI 1782-1940; Doncaster Archives
  2. M 1556-1877; Typed transcript, no index; CI 1721-1811; Doncaster Archives
  3. M 1754-1837; Index only; Archdeaconry of Doncaster Marriage Index
  4. B 1557-1666; Typed transcript, no index; Doncaster Archives

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.