Hide

Tankersley parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Tankersley parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Staincross, Liberty of Pontefract; 5 miles from Barnsley, 6½ from Rotherham, 7 from Penistone, 43 from York. Population 625. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to St. Peter, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Sheffield Archives)

  • Baptisms: 1598-1650, 1677-1948
  • Marriages: 1598-1651, 1677-1965
  • Burials: 1598-1650, 1677, 1678, 1684-1943

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600-1607, 1609, 1610, 1612, 1616, 1617, 1621-1624, 1626-1630,1632-1640, 1661-1669, 1671-1673, 1675-1678, 1683, 1684, 1689, 1691, 1692, 1694, 1696-1698, 1700-1703, 1705, 1707-1727, 1729-1837, 1846-1850, 1854- 1861

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1729-1861;
  • M 1729-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1598-1840; Typed transcript, with index; Sheffield Archives, Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.