Hide

Thorner parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Thorner parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the lower division of Skyrack, Liberty of Pontefract; 7 miles from Tadcaster and Wetherby, 8 from Leeds, 16 from York. Population 708. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Peter, in the deanery of the Ainsty.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds)

  • Baptisms: 1622-1896
  • Marriages: 1655-1925
  • Burials: 1622-1848

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1606, 1607, 1632-1639, 1661-1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1677-1679, 1682,1683, 1685, 1688-1695, 1697-1726, 1728-1744, 1746-1842, (1838, 1843, 1844*)
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1728-1842;
  • M 1728-1842

Transcripts and Indexes:

  • The Thoresby Society's transcripts of the Baptisms, Marriages and Burials are held at the West Yorkshire Archive Service (Sheepscar).

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.