Thornton in Lonsdale parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Thornton in Lonsdale parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Ewcross; 1 mile from Ingleton, 6 from Kirby Lonsdale (Westmoreland), 11 from Settle, 68 from York. Population 535. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Oswald, in the deanery of Kirby Lonsdale.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

• Baptisms: 1576-1993
• Marriages: 1576-1992
• Burials: 1576-1992

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1674*, 1689, 1691*, 1692, 1694-1699, 1701, 1702, 1708-1710, 1713-1722, 1724-1856 (All at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds)
  * Filed with Glebe Terriers at Chester, CD/RG-66.

IGI Coverage:

• C 1576-1812, 1843-1848;
• M 1576-1812, 1843-1846

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1576-1812; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 89, CD: P17; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
2. M 1576-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---