Whitkirk parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish in the township of Temple Newsam, lower division of Skyrack; 4¼ miles from Leeds, 8 from Wakefield, 10¾ from Ferrybridge, 21 from York. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of the Ainsty.
Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds)
- Baptisms: 1603-1942
- Marriages: 1603-1979
- Burials: 1603-1949
- 1600, 1601, 1604-1610, 1612, 1616, 1617, 1619, 1620, 1631-1637,1661, 1662, 1666-1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1676, 1678, 1680-1684, 1686, 1688-1847, (1848-1901*)
* At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds
- C 1600-1837, 1838-1847;
- M 1600-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1600-1837; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD21
- CMB 1600-1601; Printed transcript with index; Thoresby Society, Vol 22; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- CMB 1603-1700; Printed transcript with index; "Records of the Parish of Whitkirk", Platt & Morkill, 1892; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
- CMB 1701-1837; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- M 1603-1700; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.