Whixley parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish town, in the upper division of Claro; 6 miles from Boroughbridge, 7½ from Wetherby, 8 from Knaresborough, 11 from York. Population 467. The Church is a perpetual curacy, in the deanery of Boroughbridge, diocese of Chester.
Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)
- Baptisms: 1568-1893
- Marriages: 1568-1973
- Burials: 1568-1865
- 1663, 1670, 1674, 1681, 1687, 1691, 1694-1699, 1705, 1706, 1708-1710, 1712, 1713, 1715-1718, 1722, 1723, 1725-1728, 1730, 1732-1735, 1737, 1738, 1740-1753, 1755-1759-1810, 1812, 1813, 1815-1821, 1823-1842, 1844-1846, 1853-1859 (All at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds)
- C 1568-1812, 1813-1846;
- M 1568-1754, 1788-1789, 1813-1846
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1568-1812; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD7
- C 1568-1812; M 1568-1753; B 1568-1811; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- M 1569-1753; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.