Previous to the year 1832, the East Riding had no parliamentary representation separate from the whole county; but by the Reform Bill of that year two members were allotted to each Riding; the boroughs of Aldborough, Boroughbridge, and Hedon were disfranchised, and those of Northallerton and Thirsk were deprived of one member. Bradford, Halifax, Leeds, and Sheffield were constituted parliamentary boroughs with two members each, and Huddersfield, Wakefield, and Whitby with one member each. The Ainsty of York was for parliamentary purposes united with the North Riding. The Reform Act of 1868 deprived Richmond and Malton of one representative each, and conferred the electoral dignity on Middlesbrough, to which was allotted one member, but made no change in the East Riding.

Under the Redistribution of Seats Act, 1885, the Riding is divided into three Electoral Divisions, viz., Buckrose, Holderness, and Howdenshire, each of which returns one member, and the representation of Hull was increased from two to three members.

The Buckrose Division comprises the petty sessional divisions of Buckrose, Bainton, Beacon, and Dickering. Representative, Christopher Sykes, Esq., M.A., J.P., D.L., Brantingham Thorpe, Brough, Yorks, and 2, Chesterfield Street, Mayfair, London, W., and Carlton, White's, Boodle's, and Marlborough Clubs, London.

The Holderness Division comprises the petty sessional divisions of North Holderness, Middle Holderness, South Holderness, and North Hunsley Beacon, and the municipal boroughs of Beverley and Hull. Representative, Commander George Richard Bethell, R.N., Rise Park, Hull, and 43, Curzon Street, London, W., and Carlton and Naval and Military Clubs, London, S.W.

The Howdenshire Division comprises the petty sessional divisions of Howdenshire, Holme Beacon, South Hunsley Beacon, Wilton Beacon, and Ouse and Derwent (except so much as is included in the municipal borough of York by the "York Extension and Improvement Act"). Representative, Arthur Duncombe, Esq., M.A., J.P., D.L., South Cliff, Scarborough.

Previous part Previous
Next part Next

Data transcribed from:
Bulmer's East Riding
Scan, OCR and html software by Colin Hinson.
Checking and correction by Peter Nelson.