This body was constituted in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act of 1888, which decreed that in every administrative county, as defined by the Act, an elective body called a County Council shall be established, which shall be entrusted with the management of the administrative and financial business of the county, hitherto transacted by the magistrates at the Quarter Sessions. Under this Act, the Ridings of Yorkshire form separate administrative counties. The East Riding is divided into forty-seven divisions, each of which elects one councillor, and the borough of Beverley four. The municipal boroughs of York and Hull are, by this Act, constituted separate administrative counties under the title of County Boroughs. Each council consists of a chairman, aldermen (one-half of whom shall retire in rotation every third year), and councillors. The Act came into operation on the first of April, 1889. The meetings are held at Beverley.

Principal Officers:

  • Chairman - Sir Charles Legard, Bart.
  • Vice-Chairman - Robert Stanley Scholfield. Esq.


(retirement dates given)

Retire in 1891 -

  • Bainton William, Beverley Park, farmer
  • Broadley William Henry Harrison, Welton, Brough
  • Dickson Francis, Heslington, farmer
  • Hudson James, J.P., Bridlington Quay
  • Reckitt James, J.P., Swanland Manor, Brough
  • Saltmarshe Philip, J.P., Saltmarshe, Howden
  • Ward Ziba Armitage, Crescent Hill House, Filey
  • Wylie Robert, J.P., Beverley

Retire in 1894 -

  • Bethell George Richd., M.P., 43 Curzon Street, Mayfair, London
  • Brambles George, Bridlington Quay, merchant
  • Londesborough Right Hon. the Earl of
  • Haworth-Booth Benjamin Blades, J.P., Hull Bank Hall
  • Coleman John, Muston Hall, York, farmer
  • Legard Sir Charles, Bart., J.P., Ganton Hall
  • Machell Rev. Richard Beverley, St. Martin's Rectory, York.
  • Scholfield Rt. Stanley, J.P., Sand Hall, Howden


Anderton Geo. HerbertVulpin Lodge, HowdenChemical Manufctr.Howden
Appleton Robt. CarlisleBeverleySurgeonSt. Martin's West, Beverley
Bainton ThomasArram Hall, HullFarmerBrandesburton
Bardwell Thomas Newman FrederickWilberfoss, YorkJustice of the PeaceBishop Wilton
Baxter WilliamBurton PidseaFarmerWithernsea
Bethell WilliamRise Park, HullJustice of the PeaceSkirlaugh
Bradshaw WilliamDriffieldLandscape GardenerNorth Driffield
Bray John BrookeBrantingham, BroughFarmerRowley
Briggs RileyOsgodby, SelbyFlax MerchantRiccall
Burton David FowlerCherry Burton, BeverleyBarrister at LawWalkington
Calverley-Rudston, T.W.Allerthorpe Hall, PocklingtonJustice of the PeacePocklington
Cayley DigbyNorton Grove, MaltonJustice of the PeaceNorton
Cholmley Alfred JohnNewton Place, Rillington, YorkJustice of the PeaceRillington
Cholmley Harry WalterHowsham Hall, Kirkham Abbey, YorkJustice of the Peace Sledmere 
Coleman NathanielNorth Burton, Hunmanby, YorkFarmerHunmanby
Danby FrancisHigh Mowthorpe, Wharram, YorkFarmerSettrington
Dobson WalterHilderthorpe, BridlingtonSurveyorBridlington
Duncombe ArthurSutton-on-the-Forest, EasingwoldMember of ParliamentHuggate
Dunnington-Jefferson, Joseph J. Thicket Priory, York Justice of the Peace Melbourne
Easten Arthur HenryDunedin, Patrington, HullMerchantPatrington
Emerson JohnTwyer Wood, Preston, HullHedon 
Francis George ColeSalthugh Grange, Keyingham, HullFarmerKeyingham
Harland ThomasBridlington QuaySolicitorBridlington Quay
Herries LordEveringham Park, YorkPeerLondesborough
Higgins William Hy.Foston-on-the-Wolds, HullClerk in Holy Orders Beeford 
Hildyard Jno. Geo. B.T.Cherry Burton, HullJustice of the Peace Etton 
Hodgson RichardBeverleyTannerSt. Martin's East, Beverley
Holmes Thos. BartonHornsea, HullJustice of the Peace Hornsea 
Hutchinson WilliamGunby, SelbyFarmerBubwith
Jackson Thomas BoyesRiston Grange, HullFarmerLeven
Jaques Thomas GeorgeBlacktoft, HowdenFarmerLaxton
Jarratt William OtleyHilderthorpe Lodge, BridlingtonGentlemanHilderthorpe
Kempley WilliamSouth Cliffe, BroughFarmerMarket Weighton
Key William HenryFulford Hall, YorkJustice of the Peace Heslington 
Kirk JamesDawnay Lodge, Ganton, YorkBrewer and FarmerSherburn
Lloyd Greame Y. G.Sewerby House, HullJustice of the Peace Flamborough 
Maley NicholasSurrey Cottage, FileyGentlemanFiley
Middleton LordBirdsall House, YorkPeerLeavening
Ringrose Reginald T.West Ella Grange, HullGentlemanHessle
St. Quintin William HerbertScampston Hall, Rillington, YorkJustice of the Peace Burton Agnes 
Sample Thomas HenryBeverleyFarmerSt. Nicholas', Beverley
Staveley John AlfredNorth Dalton, HullFarmerBainton
Stephenson JohnBeverleyMerchantSt. Mary's, Beverley
Stickney Walter M.Danthorpe Hall, HullLand AgentAldborough
Stourton HenryHolme-on-Spalding Moor, YorkJustice of the Peace Holme-on-Spalding Moor 
Sutcliffe Geo. Gilbert 0.St. John's Avenue, BridlingtonSolicitorNafferton
Sykes Charles PercyWest Ella, HullJustice of the Peace Welton 
Topham WilliamKirkburn, DriffieldFarmerHutton Cranswick
Walker Francis E.Escrick, YorkLand AgentEscrick
White LukeDriffieldSolicitorSouth Driffield
Wilson DavidCottingham, HullJustice of the Peace Cottingham 
Woodhouse Jas. Thos.Elloughton, BroughSolicitorSouth Cave
Clerk to the County Council - John Bickersteth.
Previous part Previous
Next part Next

Data transcribed from:
Bulmer's East Riding
Scan, OCR and html software by Colin Hinson.
Checking and correction by Peter Nelson.