The following are the ELECTORAL DIVISIONS of the East Riding, with the parishes and places contained in them:-

Aldborough. - Aldborough, Cowdens Ambo, Danthorpe, Elsternwick, Fitling, Flinton, Garton-with-Grimston, Humbleton, Lelley, Marton, Newton East, Newton West-with-Burton Constable, Sproatley, Withernwick.

Bainton. - Bainton, Dalton North, Garton, Middleton, Neswick, Tibthorpe, Wetwang.

Beeford. - Beeford, Brigham, Foston-on-the-Wolds, Frodingham North, Gembling, Harpham, Kelk Great, Kelk Little, Lowthorpe.

Bishop Wilton. - Bishop Wilton-with-Belthorpe, Bolton, Bugthorpe, Fangfoss, Full Sutton, Great Givendale, Kirby Underdale, Scrayingham, Skirpenbeck. Stamford Bridge East, Yapham-cum-Meltonby, Youlthorpe-with-Gowthorpe.

Brandesburton. - Atwick, Bewholme and Nunkeeling, Bonwick, Brandesburton, Catfoss, Catwick, Dunnington, Hempholme, Moor Town, Seaton and Wassand, Sigglesthorne.

Bridlington. - Bridlington, so much of it as lies north of an imaginary line drawn in a westerly direction from the north side of the Railway bridge, situate on the west side of Forty Foot lane, to the Gypsey race at the south end of Ings lane.

Bridlington Quay. - Bridlington, so much of it as lies between the last mentioned imaginary line, and another imaginary line drawn from the east side of the south end of St. John street, to the roadway leading from the Quay road to Hilderthorpe, and thence along the Gypsey race, to the west end of the harbour; Sewerby, such part of as lies within the Urban Sanitary District of Bridlington.

Bubwith. - Aughton, Brackenholme-cum-Woodall, Breighton and Gunby, Bubwith, Ellerton, Foggathorpe, Gribthorpe, Harlthorpe, Hemingbrough, Laytham, Menthorpe-with-Bowthorpe, Spaldington, Willitoft, Wressle.

Burton Agnes. - Auburn, Barmston, Bessingby (part of), Boynton, Burton Agnes, Carnaby, Dringhoe, Easton, Fraisthorpe, Gransmoor, Haisthorpe, Hilderthorpe (part of), Lissett, Rudston, Skipsea, Thornholme, Ulrome, Wilsthorpe.

Cottingham. - Cottingham.

Escrick. - Deighton, Escrick, Naburn, Stillingfleet-with-Moreby, Thorganby-with-West Cottingwith, Wheldrake.

Etton. - Aike, Beswick, Dalton South, Etton, Holme-on-the-Wolds, Kilnwick, Leconfield and Arram, Lockington, Lockington-in-Kilnwick, Lund, Scarborough.

Filey. - Filey.

Flamborough. - Bempton and Newsholme, Buckton, Flamborough, Grindall, Reighton, Sewerby and Marton (part of), Speeton.

Hedon. - Hedon, Preston, Sutton.

Heslington. - Dunnington, Elvington, Fulford Gate, Fulford Water, Grimston, Heslington, Kexby, Langwith, Stamford Bridge West-with-Scoreby.

Hessle. - Anlaby, Hessle (part of).

Hilderthorpe. - Bessingby, such part of as is within the Urban Sanitary District of Bridlington; Bridlington (part of), Hilderthorpe, such part as s within the Urban Sanitary District of Bridlington.

Holme-on-Spalding Moor, - Holme-on-Spalding Moor, Hotham, North Cave.

Hornsea. - Hornsea.

Howden. - Asselby, Barmby, Belby, Howden, Kilpin, Knedlington, Partington, Skelton, Thorpe.

Huggate. - Burnby, Fridaythorpe, Huggate, Kilnwick Percy, Millington, Nunburnholme, Owsthorpe, Thixendale, Warter.

Hunmanby. - Argam, Fordon, Hunmanby, North Burton, Thwing and Octon, Wold Newton.

Hutton Cranswick. - Bracken, Eastburn, Elmswell and Little Driffield, Hutton Cranswick, Kirkburn and Battleburn, Rotsea, Skerne, Southburn, Sunderlandwick, Wansford, Watton.

Keyingham. - Burstwick, Keyingham, Ottringham, Paull, Ryhill and Camerton, Thorngumbald.

Laxton. - Balkholme, Bellasize, Bishopsoil, Blacktoft, Cheapsides, Cotness, Eastrington, Faxfleet, Gilberdyke, Laxton, Metham, Saltmarshe, Scalby, Yokefleet.

Leavening. - Acklam, Birdsall, Burythorpe, Eddlethorpe, Firby, Howsham, Kenneythorpe, Kirkham, Leavening, Leppington, Menneythorpe, Westow.

Leven. - Eske, Leven, Meaux, Routh, Storkhill and Sandholme, Thearne, Tickton, Wawne, Weel.

Londesborough. - Beilby, Everingham, Goodmanham, Harswell, Hayton, Londesborough-with-Easthorpe, Seaton Ross, Shipton, Thorpe-le-Street.

Market Weighton. - Cliffe North, Cliffe South, Market Weighton and Arras, Sancton and Houghton.

Melbourne. - Allerthorpe, Barmby-on-the-Moor, Catton High, Catton Low, Cottingwith East, Melbourne, Newton-on-Derwent, Storwood, Sutton-on-Derwent, Thornton, Waplington, Wilberfoss.

Nafferton. - Cottam, Kilham, Langtoft, Nafferton, Ruston Parva.

North Driffield. - Great Driffield (part of).

Patrington. - Easington, Kilnsea, Out Newton, Patrington, Skeffling, Sunk Island, Welwick, Winestead.

Pocklington. - Pocklington.

Riccall. - Barlby, Cliff-cum-Lund, Duffield North, Duffield South, Kelfield, Osgodby, Riccall, Skipwith.

Rillington. - Heslerton East, Heslerton West, Knapton, Rillington, Scampston, Thorpe Basset, Wintringham, Yedingham.

Rowley. - Brantingham, Ellerker, Elloughton and Brough, Newbald North, Newbald South, Rowley, Skidby.

Settrington. - Duggleby, Grimston North, Kirby Grindalythe, Langton, Raisthorpe and Burdale, Scagglethorpe, Settrington, Thirkleby, Wharram-le-Street, Wharram Percy.

Sherburn. - Folkton, Ganton, Muston, Sherburn, Willerby.

Skirlaugh. - Benningholme, Bilton, Coniston, Ellerby, Ganstead, Goxhill, Hatfield Magna, Hatfield Parva, Mappleton and Rowlston, Rise, Riston, Skirlaugh North, Skirlaugh South, Swine, Thirtleby, Wyton.

Sledmere. - Butterwick, Cowlam, Fimber, Foxholes, Helperthorpe, Luttons Ambo, Sledmere and Croom, Towthorpe, Weaverthorpe.

South Cave. - Broomfleet, South Cave, Wallingfen.

South Driffield. - Great Driffield (part of).

Walkington. - Bishop Burton, Cherry Burton, Molescroft, Walkington, Woodmansey and Beverley Parks.

Welton. - Ferriby North, Haltemprice, Kirk Ella, Melton, Swanland, West Ella, Wauldby, Welton, Willerby.

Withernsea. - Burton Pidsea, Frodingham South, Halsham, Hilston, Hollym, Holmpton, Owstwick, Owthorne, Rimswell, Roos, Tunstall, Waxholme, Withernsea

Previous part Previous
Next part Next

Data transcribed from:
Bulmer's East Riding
Scan, OCR and html software by Colin Hinson.
Checking and correction by Peter Nelson.