Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for ERY HISTORY:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.



Yorkshire forms part of the province of York, which includes also the bishoprics of Carlisle, Chester, Durham, Liverpool, Manchester, Ripon, Sodor and Man, and Wakefield. The bishops of these sees, under the presidency of the archbishop of York, Primate of England, constitute the Upper House of Convocation; and the Lower House consists of 75 members, viz., six deans of the above dioceses, twenty-one archdeacons, seven proctors for the chapters, and forty-one proctors for the clergy of the archdeaconries.

The East Riding is wholly within the diocese of York, and the archbishop is assisted in the performance of his episcopal duties by two suffragan bishops recently appointed, who take their titles from Beverley and Hull.

A small portion of the Riding is in the archdeaconry of Cleveland, and the remainder is in that of the East Riding.


is divided into twelve deaneries, containing 204 benefices, as follow

Rural Deanery of Beverley, comprising Beverley Minster or St. John, Beverley St. Mary, Bishop Burton, Cherry Burton, Dalton Holme, Etton, Lockington, Scorborough-with-Leconfield, Walkington.

Rural Deanery of Bridlington, comprising Barmston, Bempton, Bessingby, Boynton, Bridlington (Priory Church), Bridlington Quay, Burton Agnes-with-Harpham, Carnaby-with-Fraisthorpe, Flamborough, Lowthorpe-with-Rudston Parva, Reighton, Rudston, Sewerby-with-Marton and Grindall, Speeton.

Rural Deanery of Buckrose, comprising Butterwick, Cowlam, Foxholes, Helperthorpe, Kilham, Kirby Grindalythe, Langtoft-with-Cottam, Luttons Ambo, Sledmere, Thwing, Weaverthorpe, Wharram Percy, Wharram-le-Street, Wold Newton.

Rural Deanery of Harthill, comprising Bainton, Great Driffield-with-Little Driffield, Foston-on-the-Wolds, North Frodingham, Garton-on-the-Wolds, Huggate, Hutton Cranswick, Kirkburn, Lund-with-Kilnwick, Middleton-on-the-Wolds, Nafferton-with-Wansford, North Dalton, Skerne, Warter, Watton-with-Beswick, Wetwang-with-Fimber.

Rural Deanery of Hedon, comprising Bilton, Burstwick, Burton Pidsea, Easington-with-Kilnsea and Skeffling, Garton-in-Holderness, Halsham, Hedon, Hollym-with-Withernsea, Holmpton, Humbleton-with-Elsternwick, Keyingham, Ottringham, Owthorne, Patrington, Paull-with-Thorngumbald, Preston-in-Holderness, Roos, Sproatley, Sunk Island, Tunstall-with-Hilston, Welwick, Winestead.

Rural Deanery of Hornsea, comprising Aldbrough-with-Colden Parva, Atwick, Beeford-with-Lissett and Dunnington, Brandesburton, Catwick, Goxhill, Hornsea-with-Riston, Leven, Mappleton, Nunkeeling, Rise Routh, Sigglesthorne, Skipsea, Skirlaugh, Swine, Ulrome, Wawne, Withernwick.

Rural Deanery of Howden, comprising Barmby Marsh, Blacktoft, Brantingham-with-Ellerker, Broomfleet, Eastrington, Elloughton, North Ferriby, Hessle, Hotham, Howden, Kirk Ella-with-Anlaby, Laxton, North Cave-with-South Cliffe, Rowley, South Cave, Welton-with-Melton, Wressell.

Rural Deanery of Hull, comprising all the parishes in the town of Hull, Drypool, Cottingham, Marfleet, Newington, Newland, Sculcoates, Skidby, Sutton.

Rural Deanery of Pocklington, comprising Acklam East, Barmby Moor-with-Fangfoss, Bishop Wilton, Brigthorpe, Catton-with-Stamford Bridge, Full Sutton, Kexby, Kilnwick Percy, Kirby Underdale, Millington, Pocklington-with-Meltonby and Yapham, Scrayingham-with-Howsham and Leppington, Skirpenbeck, Sutton-on-Derwent, Thixendale, Thornton-with-Allerthorpe and Melbourne, Westow, Wilberfoss.

Rural Deanery of Scarborough, comprising Burton Fleming with Fordon, Filey, Folkton, Ganton, Hunmanby, Muston, Willerby, and some parishes in the North Riding.

Rural Deanery of Settrington, comprising Birdsall, Burythorpe, Fridaythorpe, Heslerton East, Heslerton West, Knapton, Langton, North Grimston, Norton, Rillington, Scampston, Settrington, Sherburn, Thorpe Bassett, Wintringham, Yedingham.

Rural Deanery of Weighton, comprising Aughton with East Cottingwith, Bubwith, Burnby, Ellerton Priory, Everingham, Goodmanham, Harswell, Hayton with Beilby, Holme-on-Spalding Moor, Londesborough, Market Weighton, North Newbald, Nunburnholme, Sancton, Seaton Ross, Shipton-Thorpe.


The Rural Deanery of Bulmer in this Archdeaconry extends into the East Riding, and includes the following parishes in that division Barlby, Dunnington, Elvington, Escrick, Hemingbrough, Heslington, Riccall, Skipwith, Stillingfleet, Thorganby, Wheldrake.
Previous part Previous
Next part Next

Data transcribed from:
Bulmer's East Riding
Scan, OCR and html software by Colin Hinson.
Checking and correction by Peter Nelson.