Lord Lieutenant and Custos Rotulorum, for the East Riding of Yorkshire, 1840.




Public Officers &c of the East Riding 1840.

Lord Lieutenant and Custos Rotulorum,

  • Lord Wenlock, Escrick Park

Members of Parliament,

  • Richard Bethell Esq
  • Henry Broadley Esq

Clerk of the Peace,

  • The Honourable William Howard, M P

Deputy Clerk of the Peace, Clerk of Indictments and Treasurer,

  • Henry John Shepherd Esq, Beverley

Surveyor of Bridges,

  • Mr William Creyke, Burythorpe

Crier of the Court,

  • Mr Wm. Burrell, Beverley

Keeper of the House of Correction,

  • Mr Thomas Shepherd, Beverley

Coroners of the East Riding,

  • Edmund Dade Conyers, Driffield
  • John Wood, York
  • Matthew Pearson, Selby

Coroners for Holderness,

  • William James and Arthur Iveson Esqrs, Hedon

Coroner for Howdenshire,

  • George Rawden Earnshaw, Howden

Chief Bailiffs of Liberties,

  • The Bishop of Durham for Howdenshire
  • Sir Thomas Aston Clifford Constable, Bart, of Burton Constable, for the Seigniory of Holderness [and High Sheriff in 1840]

Registrar of Wills and Deeds,

  • H W Maister Esq, Beverley

Wapentakes and Chief Constables,

  • Buckrose, William Hudson, Howsham
  • Dickering, Edward Ashley Molescroft
  • Harthill, Geo Bagley of Pocklington for Wilton Beacon Division
  • Wm. Hill of Beilby, for Holme Beacon Div,
  • John Robinson of Lockington for Bainton Beacon Div
  • Wm. Nicholls of Beverley for North Hunsley Beacon Div
  • James Boyes of Beverley for South Hunsley Beacon Division
  • Holderness, John Nornabel of Southcoates for Middle Division
  • Francis Dawson of Rise for North Div
  • Henry Raines of Wyton for South Division
  • Howdenshire, James Campbell of Howden
  • Ouse and Derwent, Charles Reeves of Barlby

Transcribed by:
Caroline Gaden ©2000
Whites 1840 Gazetteer and Directory