A description of the North Riding of Yorkshire





Yorkshire forms part of the Province of York, which includes also the Bishoprics of Carlisle, Chester, Durham, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Ripon, Sodor and Man, and Wakefield. The Bishops of these Sees, under the presidency of the Archbishop of York, Primate of England, constitute the Upper House of Convocation; and the Lower House consists of 76 members, viz., six Deans of the above Dioceses, 21 Archdeacons, seven Proctors for the Chapters, and 41 Proctors for the clergy of Archdeaconries.

The North Riding is partly in the Diocese of York, and partly in that of Ripon. The latter See was constituted by Act of Parliament in 1836. The eastern and larger portion, forming the Archdeaconry of Cleveland, belongs to the former Diocese, and the western portion, comprised in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, belongs to the latter.

The Archdeaconry of Cleveland

THE ARCHDEACONRY OF CLEVELAND (population, 290,802) is divided into 9 Deaneries and 176 Benefices, as follow

Deanery of Bulmer, comprising Barlby, Bossall with Buttercrambe, Bulmer with Welburn and Castle Howard, Crambe, Dunnington, Elvington, Escrick, Flaxton, Foston Gate, Helmsley, Hemingbrough, Heslington, Holtby, Huttons Ambo, Osbaldwick, Riccall, Sand Hutton, Skipwith, Stillingfleet, Stockton-on-the-Forest, Thorganby, Upper Helmsley, Warthill, Wheldrake, and Whitwell. Rev. Canon Randolph, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Easingwold, comprising Alne with Aldwark, Brafferton, Brandsby, Coxwold with Yearsley, Crayke, Dalby, Easingwold, Haxby, Huntington, Husthwaite with Birdforth, Marton with Moxby and Farlington, Myton-on-Swale, Newton-upon-Ouse, Overton, Raskelf, Sheriff Hutton, Skelton, Stillington, Strensall, Sutton-le-Forest, Terrington, Thormanby, Whenby, and Wigginton. Rev. M. E. Stanbrough, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Helmsley, comprising Ampleforth, Appleton-le-Moors, Appleton-le-Street with Amotherby, Barton-le-Street, Bilsdale, Bransdale with Farnndale, Edstone, East Gilling, Harome, Hawnby, Helmsley with Pockley and Sproxton, Hovingham, Kirby Moorside with Gillamoor, Kirkdale, Lastingham, Normanby, Nunnington Old Byland, Oswaldkirk, Rosedale, Salton, Scawton with Cold Kirby, Sinnington, Slingsby, Stonegrave. Rev. A. W. Wetherall, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Malton, comprising Brompton with Swainton, Ebberston with Allerston, Ellerburn with Wilton, Hutton Buscel, Kirby Misperton, Levisham, Malton Old, Malton New (St. Leonard's and St. Michael's), Middleton with Cropton and Lockton, Newton-upon-Rawcliffe, Pickering, Thornton Dale, Wykeham. Rev. E. W. Heslop, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Middlesbrough, comprising Acklam West, Brotton, Coatham East, Eston with Normanby, Guisborough, Kirkleatham, Marske, Marton-in-Cleveland, Middlesbrough (St. Hilda's, All Saints', St. John's, St. Paul's, and St. Peter's), Ormesby South, Ormesby North, Redcar, Saltburn-by-the-Sea, Skelton-in-Cleveland, Thornaby, Upleatham, and Wilton. Ven. Archdeacon H. W. Yeoman, M.A., Rural Dean.

Deanery of Northallerton, comprising Birkby, Brompton, Carlton-in-Cleveland, Cowesby, East Harlsey, Faceby, High Worsall, Hutton Bonville, Ingleby Arncliffe, Kirby Sigston, Northallerton with Deighton and Romanby, Osmotherley, Over Silton, West Rounton, Welbury, and Whorlton. Rev. B. C. Caffin, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Stokesley, comprising Crathorne, Danby, Great Ayton with Easby, Hilton, Ingleby Greenhow, Kildale, Kirby-in-Cleveland, Kirkleavington, Newton-in-Cleveland, Nunthorpe, Rudby-in-Cleveland with Middleton-upon-Leven and East Rounton, Seamer-in-Cleveland, Stainton, Stokesley, Westerdale, and Yarm. Rev. Canon Wright, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Thirsk, comprising Baldersby, Carlton Miniott, Dishforth, Feliskirk with Boltby, Kilburn, Kirby Knowle with Bagby, Leake with Nether Silton, Marton-le-Moor, Otterington North with Thornton-le-Beans, Otterington South, Sand Hutton, Sessay, Skipton-on-Swale, South Kelvington, Sowerby, Thirkleby, Thirsk, Thornton-le-Street, and Topcliffe with Dalton. Rev. Wm. Teesdale Mackintosh, M.A., Rural Dean.

Deanery of Whitby, comprising Aislaby, Easington with Liverton, Egton, Eskdaleside or Sleights with Ugglebarnby, Fylingdales, Glaisdale, Goathland, Grosmont, Hawsker, Hinderwell with Roxby, Lofthouse, Lythe, Ruswarp, Sneaton, Ugthorpe, and Whitby (St. Mary's and St. Peter's with St. John's and St. Michael's). Rev. G. Austin, Rural Dean.

The Deanery of Scarborough is under the jurisdiction of the Archdeacon of the East Riding. It includes the following parishes in the North Riding:- Cloughton, Hackness with Harewood-dale, Scalby, Scarborough (St. Mary's with Christ Church, All Saints, Holy Trinity, St. Martin's and St. Thomas's), and Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton.

The Archdeaconry of Richmond

The ARCHDEACONRY OF RICHMOND, Diocese of Ripon, is divided into 24 Deaneries, of which the following are in the North Riding

Deanery of Catterick East, comprising Bedale, Crakehall, Burneston, Leeming, Hornby, Kirkby Fleetham-with-Fencote, Kirklington, Patrick Brompton-with-Hunton, Pickhill, Scruton, Thornton Watlass, Wath, Well, and West Tanfield. Rev. F. Earle, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Catterick West, comprising Aysgarth, Askrigg, Hardrow with Lunds, Hawes, Stallingbusk, Coverham with Horsehouse, Finghall, Hauxwell, Middleham, Spennithorne, Bellerby, Thornton Steward, Wensley, Leyburn, Bolton with Redmire, Witton East and Witton West, Rev. E. C. Topham, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Richmond East, comprising Ainderby Steeple, Barton St. Cuthbert with St. Mary, Cleasby, Cowton East, Cowton South, Croft, Danby Wiske with Yafforth, Eryholme, Kirkby Wiske with Maunby, Langton-on-Swale, Manfield, Melsonby, Middleton Tyas, Smeaton Great with Appleton Wiske, Stanwick, and Caldwell. Rev. Canon Ellison, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Richmond West, comprising Arkengarthdale, Catterick with Tunstall, Bolton-on-Swale, Hipswell, Hudswell, Downholme, Easby with Brompton-on-Swale Gilling, Forcett, Hutton Magna, Grinton, Melbecks, Muker, Kirkby Ravensworth, Marrick, Marske, and Richmond, Rev. Canon Roberts, Rural Dean.

Deanery of Richmond North, comprising Barningham, Bowes, Brignall, Rokeby, Romaldkirk, Laithkirk, Startforth, and Wycliffe. Rev. G. Hales, LL.B., Rural Dean.

Deanery of Masham, comprising the parishes of Masham and Healey in the North Riding, and Kirkby Malzeard, Dallaghgill, Grewelthorpe, Mickley, Middlesmoor, and Ramsgill in the West Riding. Rev. G. M. Gorham, Rural Dean.

Previous part Previous
Next part Next

Data transcribed from:
Bulmer's North Riding
Scan, OCR and html software by Colin Hinson.
Checking and correction by Peter Nelson.