Convamore, the seat of Viscount Ennismore, is a handsome modern mansion, beautifully situated in a fine demesne stretching along the banks of the Blackwater, and commanding an interesting view of the windings of that river through rich masses of wood to the picturesque ruins of the ancient castle of Ballyhooley, situated on a rocky eminence over the Blackwater, and, with the present church and the ruins of the former, both closely, adjoining, presenting a highly picturesque and romantic group. Gurteen House, the residence of Luke G. Campion, Esq., is finely situated on an eminence overlooking the river and commanding an extensive and richly diversified view of this truly picturesque country, combining a wide range of mountain, wood, and water, with the fine ruins of Creg and Ballyhooley castles; the house has been greatly enlarged and improved. Upper Convamore, the residence of J. Delany, Esq., is also in the parish. The village is situated near the river, over which is a stone bridge: it contains 85 houses, the greater number of which are thatched, and is a constabulary police station. At Millvale is an extensive cornmill.
The river Blackwater, from its numerous shoals and rapids, is not navigable in this part of its course.
The living is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Cloyne, united by act of council to the vicarage of Killathy, and with it forming the corps of the prebend of Aghultie in the cathedral of Cloyne, and in the patronage of the Bishop; the tithes amount to £468, and of the whole benefice to £6l8. The church, a small plain building without a tower, was erected about 60 years since, near the site of the old church, of which there are still some remains. There is no glebe-house, and only one acre of glebe. In the R. C. divisions the parish is one of the five that constitute the union or district of Castletown-Roche; the chapel, situated in the village, is a spacious and commodious building recently erected. There are two schools, one of 134 boys, the other of 56 girls; the latter, which is in the chapelyard, was built at the expense of the late Rev. J. Kirby, P. P. 5 both are under the superintendence of the National Board, and towards their support Lord and Lady Ennismore, and D. Callaghan, Esq., are liberal contributors.
Ballyhooley castle was formerly one of the principal fortresses of the Roches, and on its forfeiture was granted with the adjoining lands to Sir Richard Aldworth: it was taken in 1645 by Lord Castlehaven, who commanded the royal forces in this district. In the demesne of Convamore is a spring impregnated with carbonate of lime; and there is also a similar spring on the new, line of road to Cork. There are several raths or forts in the parish.
from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ballyhooly to another place.
You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference W7247198434 (Lat/Lon: 52.13758, -8.402784), Ballyhooly which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- Bing (was Multimap)
572471,598434and paste it into the search box at Ordnance Survey Ireland.
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)