The northern part of the parish, containing the townlands of Gortnagrague and Quartertown, is within the jurisdiction of the manorial court of Mallow, held every three weeks by the seneschal of C. D. O. Jephson, Esq., lord of the manor. The seats are Quartertown, the residence of J. D. Croker, Esq.; Harrietville, of the Rev. J. Lombard, commanding a picturesque view of the town of Mallow; and Rock vale House, the recently erected mansion of S. G. Beamish, Esq. The late Lord Muskerry built, a splendid mansion in the vicinity, on which he is said to have expended upwards of £30,000; but before it was inhabited, it was taken down, and the materials sold; the foundations still remain. The living is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Cloyne, and in the patronage of the Crown. The tithes amount to £553. 16.11.: there is a glebe of 5½ acres near the town of Castle-Lyons, 14 miles distant. The church, situated at Ballinamona, is a small plain building, with a square tower: it has lately undergone a temporary repair, but has been condemned by the provincial architect, and will probably soon be rebuilt. In the R. C. divisions the greater part of the parish forms the head of the union or district of Ballinamona, comprising also the parish of Grenagh and part of Rahan, and containing the chapels of Burnfort, Monaparson, and Grenagh: the remainder is included in the Mallow district. It is in contemplation to erect a new chapel at Ballinamona. The parochial school, of about 50 children, is partly supported by the rector, under whose superintendence a Sunday school is also held; and there is a private school of about 60 children. The extensive, but now uninteresting ruins of Mourne Abbey, stand between the old and new roads from Cork to Mallow; they appear to have been surrounded by a high walled enclosure, the angles of which were defended by strong bastions. The skeleton of the church, said to have been 180 feet long, still remains, but destitute of the mouldings and other ornamental parts of the masonry. On the summit of a ridge on the opposite side of the Clydagh, which here separates the baronies of Muskerry and Barretts, is Castlemore, an ancient ruined structure of gloomy appearance, with a tower attached: it was built by the Barretts, and long continued the chief residence of the head of that family.
In a sequestered valley in the southern part of the parish are the picturesque ruins of the ancient church of Kilquane. On removing the foundations of the old church at Ballinamona, for the erection of the present one, a large spur and an ancient spear were discovered.
At Quartertown is a mineral spring.
from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Mourneabbey to another place.
You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference W5811592346 (Lat/Lon: 52.081976, -8.611695), Mourneabbey which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- Bing (was Multimap)
558115,592346and paste it into the search box at Ordnance Survey Ireland.
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)