County Dublin

Dublin, a county in Ireland, in Leinster, bounded N by Meath, E by the Irish sea, S by Wicklow, and W by Meath and Kildare, 30 m. long, and 19 broad; containing 228,211 acres, and 108 parishes, 21 of which are in the city of Dublin. The county is flat, except towards the S; on the coast it is broken into bays and creeks, with several places of resort for sea-bathing. Pop. 210,000.
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]



The transcription for this county from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.




Ryan, J.G. and Smith, B. Guide to Tracing your Dublin Ancestors, Glenageary, Co. Dublin, Ireland, Flyleaf Press 110 p. [ISBN 0 9508466 9 4]




From Fianna:

  • Dublin Historical Record (quarterly),
    The Hon. Editor, Old Dublin Society, City Assembly House, 58 South William Street, Dublin 2
  • Rathmichael Historical Record (annual)
    Mr. D. McGarry, Hon. Editor, 196 Rathfarnam Road, Dublin 14
  • Royal Society of the Antiquaries of Ireland Journal (annual)
    The Hon. Editor, 63 Merrion Square, Dublin 2
  • Scathlan D Uas O'Baoill, 31 Plas Mhic Liam, Bail Atha Cliath 2