Hide
Ballincuslane
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"BALLINCUSLANE, a parish, in the barony of TRUGHENACKMY, county of KERRY, and province of MUNSTER, 4½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Castleisland; containing 4,700 inhabitants. The parish, which is situated on the west bank of the river Blackwater, and on the confines of the county of Cork, is intersected by the old and new roads from castleisland into that county, the latter being the road to King-William's-Town now in progress at the expense of the Government. It comprises 37,118 staute acres as applotted under the tithe act.
At Ardnagragh are the ruins of Desmond's chapel, with a burial-ground attached, now called Kilnananima; here the remains of The Great Earl of Desmond (who was slain in 1583) were interred. Near this spot are the remains of Kilmurry castle, which was taken by Col. Phaire, of Cork, in 1650: this and the castles of Kilcushnan and Bally-Mac-Adam, sit within half a mile of each other, were inhabited by three brothers named Fitzgerald, of the Desmond family, between whom such enmity subsisted that none of them would suffer the others to pass unmolested through his lands."
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel Lewis (1837)]
Hide
A transcript of Griffiths Valuation for two townlands is available on Rootsweb's Kerry site.
In the Church of Ireland, Ballincuslane was united to Castleisland, Dysert and Killeentierna until 1836, when it became a separate parish once more, with the name 'Ballycushlane'. There was no church, and services were held in a room in Derreen house. In about 1850 a church was built in Cordal. The parish was reunited to Castleisland in 1872. Ballycushlane Church continued in use until about 1967.
In the Roman Catholic church, Ballincuslane was included in the parish of Castleisland. In 1868 the northern part of the Civil Parish (roughly comprising Kilmurry, Mount Eagle and Crinny DEDs) was taken into the new parish of Brosna. In 1916 this northern area was placed in the new parish of Knocknagoshel. A new church was built at Cordal, under the Castleisland parish.
There are no surviving parish registers for the Church of Ireland parish of Ballycushlane.
The Castleisland Catholic Registers start in 1823 for marriages and 1822 for baptisms.
The registers remain in the custody of the parish priest, although microfilm copies are at the National Archives of Ireland. Written permission from the Bishop of Kerry is required to view these records.
From 1863 Ballinacuslane was included in the Tralee Registration District. See the Registration Districts page.
For Registration purposes the District Electoral Divisions listed above are used.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ballincuslane to another place.
A Map showing the Townlands of Ballinacuslane from Rootsweb
[Last updated: 12-Jul-2004 12:40 PM - Laurence Jones]
You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference R0867008595 (Lat/Lon: 52.222019, -9.337163), Ballincuslane which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Copy
Ballincuslaneand paste it along with the county name into the search box at Ordnance Survey Ireland. - GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.