Hide
Ballyduff
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"BALLYDUFF, a parish, in the barony of CORKAGUINEY, county of KERRY, and province of MUNSTER 7¼ miles (N. E.) from Dingle; containing 420 inhabitants, of which number 92 are in the village. This parish, which is situated near the road from Dingle to Tralee, comprises 9,825 statute acres, as applotted by the tithe act.
The village contains 15 houses and is a constabulary police station.
On the border of the parish is a romantic glen, called Maharabo, where it is said the last wolf in this part of the country was killed; the particular spot is still called Wolf Step."
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel Lewis (1837)]
Hide
A Transcript of the Tithe Applotments for Ballyduff Parish, 1829
A Transcript of Griffiths Valuation
are both available at the Rootswb County Kerry site.
The parish church was situated in the old burial ground. It was abandoned, probably in the early seventeenth century. There are no remains today.
The Church of Ireland never established a church in the area and the parish seems to have been merged with Cloghane. In 1871 Ballyduff was officially united to Dingle.
In the Roman Catholic church Ballyduff has been part of the union of Killiney and Cloghane since at least the seventeenth century. The parish was renamed Castlegregory about 1875, and one of two churches was built at Cloghane.
The Church of Ireland registers no longer exist.
The Roman Catholic parish registers for Killiny and Clohanes (or Castlegregory) cover Baptisms from 1828 to 1879, and Marriages from 1829 to 1880.
The registers remain in the custody of the parish priest, although microfilm copies are at the National Archives of Ireland. Written permission from the Bishop of Kerry is required to view these records.
From 1863 Ballyduff was part of the Dingle Registration District, and the Castlegregory Registrar's District. See the Registration Districts page.
The County Kerry RootsWeb site has transcripts of Deaths Registered in Castlegregory District 1864-1870 and Marriages Registered in the Castlegregory District 1864-1870
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ballyduff to another place.
A Map showing the location of Ballyduff in the County
A Map showing the Townlands of Ballyduff
[Last updated: 12-Jul-2004 12:42 PM - Laurence Jones]
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference Q5389908198 (Lat/Lon: 52.206656, -10.137969), Ballyduff which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Copy
Ballyduffand paste it along with the county name into the search box at Ordnance Survey Ireland. - GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.