The list below shows the composition of the civil registration districts in County Kerry between 1843 and 1964.

Superintendant Registrar's Districts

Kerry was divided into six Superintendant Registrar's Districts, based on the poor law union areas. Each of these were in turn subdivided into Registrar's Districts, formed by groupings of District Electoral Districts (DEDs).




Registrars' Districts : Caher, Derrynane, Emlagh, Valencia


Caher Registrar's District


Bahaghs DED, Caher DED, Castlequin DED, Killinane DED

Derrynane Registrar's District

Ballybrack DED, Caherdaniel DED, Darrynane DED, Loughcurrane DED

  • Select entries from births registered 1867-1873

Emlagh Registrar's District

Ballinskelligs DED, Canuig DED, Derriana DED, Emlagh DED, Mastergeehy DED, St. Finians DED, Teeranearagh DED

Valencia Registrar's District

Portmagee DED, Valencia DED



Registrars' Districts : Awenascale, Castlegregory, Dingle, Ventry


Awenascale (or Annascaul) Registrar's District


Ballinvoher DED, Ballynacourty DED, Inch DED, Lack DED, Minard DED

Castlegregory Registrar's District

Ballyduff (Dingle) DED, Brandon DED, Castlegregory DED, Cloghane DED, Deelis DED, Stradbally DED

Dingle Registrar's District

Dingle DED, Glin DED, Kinard DED

Ventry Registrar's District

Dunquin DED, Dunurlin DED, Kilmalkedar DED, Kilquane DED, Marhin DED, Ventry DED



Registrars' Districts : Kenmare, Kilgarvan, Sneem, Tuosist


Kenmare Registrar's District


Dromore DED, Greenane DED, Kenmare DED, Reen DED

Kilgarvan Registrar's District

Cappagh DED, Glanlee DED, Glanlough DED, Kilgarvan DED

Sneem Registrar's District

Castlecove DED, Loughbrin DED, Sneem DED, Tahilla DED

  • Select entries from births registered in 1868-1878

Tuosist Registrar's District

Ardea DED, Banawn DED, Dawros DED, Glanmore DED



Registrars' Districts : Coom, Glanbehy, Killarney 1, Killarney 2, Killorglin, Milltown, Molahiffe


Coom Registrar's District


Coom DED, Doocarrig DED, Headfort DED, Knocknahoe DED, Rathmore DED

Glanbehy Registrar's District

Cloon DED, Curraghbeg DED, Glanbehy DED, Lickeen DED, Maum DED

Killarney 1 Registrar's District

Aghadoe DED, Lahard DED, Killarney DED, Killarney Urban DED (part), Muckross DED

Killarney 2 Registrar's District

Brewsterfield DED, Clydagh DED, Coolies DED, Flesk DED, Killarney Rural DED, Killarney Urban DED (part)

Killorglin Registrar's District

Caragh DED, Churchtown DED, Curraghmore DED, Dunloe DED, Kilgobnet DED, Killorglin DED

Milltown Registrar's District

Dromin DED, Kilbonane DED, Kilnanare DED, Milltown DED

Molahiffe Registrar's District

Aglish DED, Ballyhar DED, Currans DED, Kilcummin DED, Kilfelim DED, Kileentierna DED, Molahiffe DED, Rockfield DED



Registrars' Districts : Ballybunion, Ballyduff, Ballyheige, Ballyhorgan, Ballylongford, Listowel, Tarbert


Ballybunion Registrar's District


Ballyconry DED, Ballyegan DED, Beal DED, Gullane DED, Killehenny DED, Urlee DED

Ballyduff Registrar's District

Ardagh DED, Ballyduff DED, Cauaeway DED, Dromartin DED, Killury DED, Kiltomy DED

Ballyheige Registrar's District

Abbeydorney DED, Ardfert DED, Ballyheige DED, Ballynorig DED, Banna DED, Kerryhead DED, Killahan DED, Tubrid DED

Ballyhorgan Registrar's District

Ballinclogher DED, Ballyhorgan DED, Ennismore DED, Kilfeighny DED, Kilshensne DED, Lixnaw DED, Rathea DED

Ballylongford Registrar's District

Astee DED, Carrig DED, Gunsborough DED, Lislaughtin DED, Lisselton DED, Shroneowen DED

Listowel Registrar's District

Cloontubbrid DED, Duagh DED, KIlmeany DED, Listowel Rural DED, Listowel Urban DED, Moynsha DED, Trienearagh DED

Tarbert Registrar's District

Leitrim DED, Newtownsandes DED, Tarbert DED, Tarmon DED



Registrars' Districts : Brosna No.1, Brosna No.2, Castleisland, Castlemaine, Kilgobban, Tralee No.1, Tralee No.2


Brosna No.1 Registrar's District


Brosna DED, Crinny DED (part), Gneeves DED (part), Kilmurry DED (part), Knocknagoshel DED (part), Mount Eagle DED (part)

Brosna No.2 Registrar's District

Carker DED, Cordal DED, Crinny DED (part), Derreen DED, Kilmurry DED (part), Knocknagoshel DED (part), Millbrook DED, Mount Eagle DED (part)

Castleisland Registrar's District

Ballyegan DED, Castleisland DED, Lackabaun DED, Nohaval DED, Scartaglin DED

Castlemaine Registrar's District

Boolteens DED, Kilgarrylander DED, Kiltallagh DED

Kilgobban Registrar's District

Kilgobban DED, Knockglass DED

Tralee No.1 Registrar's District

Arabela DED, Ballyseedy DED, Baurtregaum DED, Kilflyn DED, O'Brennan DED, Ratass DED, Tralee Urban DED, Tralee Urban No.1 DED

Tralee No.2 Registrar's District

Ballynahaglish DED, Blennerville DED, Clogherbrien DED, Doon DED, Tralee Rural DED, Tralee Urban No.2 DED


Last Updated 14-Aug-2005 08:58 PM - Laurence Jones