Hide
Tuosist
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"TUOSIST, or KILMACOLOGUE a parish, in the barony of GLANEROUGH, county of KERRY, and province of MUNSTER, 12 miles (S. W.) from Kenmare, on the bay of that name; containing 6376 inhabitants. This parish is considered to be one of the wildest and most irreclaimable districts in the county: it is seperated on the south-east from the county of Cork by a range of lofty and almost impassable mountains, and extends for about nine miles along the southern shore of the great estuary, or bay of Kenmare, an inlet of which, called Ardgroom Harbour, forms its boundary to the south-west.
By ancient computation the parish, which is entirely the property of the Marquess of Lansdowne, comprises 97½ gneeves, or upwards of 40,000 statute acres, consisting chiefly of rocky mountain and bog; in the hollows among the mountains are several lakes, some of which are extremely picturesque, and near the bay is one of considerable size called Lough Cloney.
There is a considerable domestic manufacture of coarse flannel, which is chiefly sold in the town of Kenmare; and several of the inhabitants are occassionally employed in the fishery of the bay: at Ardea is a good salmon fishery. The small bay or harbour of Kilmacalogue affords shelter to vessels of considerable size.
The parish is in the diocese of Ardfert and Aghadoe, and is a rectory, forming part of the union of Kenmare.
In the R. C. divisions it forms the head of a union or district, called Lochort, or Carks, comprising also that part of Kenmare lying on the south side of the river, and containing the chapels of Daurus and Deireen. At Ardea is a house for the priest, built by the Marquess of Lansdowne, who has also, in conjunction with the National Board, lately erected school-houses at Carks and Cloney.
The ruins of the old church still exist in the burial-ground near the harbour of Kilmacalogue; and at Lochurt are the remains of a druidical circle. In the vicinity of Ardea is Lough Quinlan, in which are some remarkable little floating islands. "
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel Lewis (1837)]
Hide
Note: The Civil Parish of Tuosist ceased to be used for census purposes in the mid nineteenth century when District Electoral Divisions (DEDs) were introduced.
Tuosist is now contained in three DEDs:
- Ardea DED Comprises the townlands of Ardea, Canfee, Cummers East, Cummers West, Derreen, Derreenatlooig, Derryconnery, Derrylough, Derryrush, Drombohilly Lower, Drombohilly Upper, Dromdiraowen, Garranes, Kilmakilloge, Lehid, Loughaunacreen, Tragalee, Uragh.
- Dawros DED Comprises the townlands of Ballynafullia, Carks, Cloonee, Coolanarroo, Coornacaragh, Coornagillagh, Cooryeen, Cummeen, Dawros, Derreenacallaha, Derreengarrinshagh, Derrinknow, Derrynabrack, Derrynamucklagh, Derrynid, Derrysallagh, Derryvorahig, Drombane, Dromroe, Feoramore, Feorus East, Feorus West, Gortlicka, Inchicloon, Inchinlough, Killaha East, Killaha West, Lohart, Maulagowna, Muckera, Rossard, Dinish Island, Ormond Island.
- Glanmore DED Comprises the townlands of Canagullen, Cashelkeelty, Clogherane, Collorus, Coolcreen, Coolownig, Creeveen, Cuhig, Cummeengeera, Deelis, Derrygreenia, Dromaclaurig, Dromerkeen, Eskadawer, Fehanagh, Glanmore, Glanrastel, Glantrasna, Gortavallig, Knockowen, Lauragh Lower, Lauragh Upper, Reenkilla, Shinnagh, Shronebirrane, Bird Island.
- The National Archives of Ireland has scans of the 1901 and 1911 census available online:
- 1901: Ardea, Dawros, Glanmore.
- 1911: Ardea, Dawros, Glanmore.
The Church of Ireland parish of Tuosist (or Kilmackelogue) was made part of the parish of Kenmare in 1673.
The Roman Catholic Parish of Tuosist consists of most of the Civil Parish of Tuosist and seems to have seperated from Kenmare parish in 1838. There are two churches in the parish - Saint Killian's Church, Lauragh built in 1866 and Dauros church built in 1829.
The Church of Ireland parish registers (Kenmare) for baptisms, marriages and burials date from 1818. See the Kenmare page for more details.
The Catholic Registers start on April 22nd 1844 for both marriages and baptisms, but with pages missing. Before 1838 the registers for the parish of Templenoe, Kenmare and Douros should be consulted. These date back to 1819.
The registers remain in the custody of the parish priest, microfilm copies are at the National Library of Ireland can be viewed online at the following links: Tuosist, Templenoe, Kenmare and Douros.
From 1863 Tuosist was part of the Kenmare Registration District, and the Tuosist Registrar's District. See the Registration Districts page.
The District Electoral Divisions listed above are used for civil registration.
Tuosist.com - maintained by local volunteers.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Tuosist to another place.
A Map showing the Townlands of Tuosist from Rootsweb
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference V8132259744 (Lat/Lon: 51.777978, -9.720268), Tuosist which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Copy
Tuosistand paste it along with the county name into the search box at Ordnance Survey Ireland. - GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.